Mirrored Dance

0304 – Mirrored dance” by Zonja Capalini. Models: Noys, Zonja. Music: Torley: Torlon Window. Filmed in: Condensation Beach, SL. A collation of raw SL footage (only some simple fading added, and in some cases 90 degree rotations)

As you already know, Zonja Capalini is always good for a surprise (check out her “Wireframe Dance” video) and her creativity is without limits. The “Mirrored Dance” video is a vivid example. I did not believe my eyes when I first saw it because I have never seen a mirror in SL, even though I have my account for over a year.
I asked Zonja and I was even more surprised when she told me: “The mirror is _water_”
Huh? Water? This definitely needed an explanation! Zonja was more than happy to invite me to her sim Condensation Land and to explain all the details…

Well, it turned out she is using a special water setup.

Zonja Capalini: “Oracolo sent me the water setup. Oracolo Janus.
He found it by trial and error, and sent me the water parameters manually
I built the XML file and I htmlized it to be able to post it to Flickr 🙂
Please follow the instructions to be able to see the mirror…”

Zonja’s instructions:

  • Copy and paste Oracolo’s water setup to an empty file with a .xml extension
  • drop this file into C:\Program Files\SecondLife\app_settings\windlight\water
  • close the SL client (if open), and finally open your SL client.
  • Go to World menu -> Environment settings -> Environment editor, click on “Advanced water”, and open the “Water presets” dropdown. Voila! You’ll find a new preset with the new filename.
  • Check your preferences: Edit -> Preferences -> Graphics. Choose “Custom” Then reflection detail “Everything” . You should see the reflection now

This is a pic I took of myself (different water setup)
left: Default water setup, right: Oracolo’s water setup
Note the difference in reflection!

 

Zonja Capalini: When I saw that you could get perfect reflections, I thought “hey, maybe I can get a dance with a mirror” And I designed this room🙂

Zonja and I standing on the mirror

We are standing in a special room rotated by 90° with a transparent wall (=mirror) touching the reflective water surface. The blue carpet textured wall on the right hand site simulates the floor. A (white) dance pose ball rotated by 90° makes your avie dance in horizontal position…..What a great idea! It’s as brilliant as it is simple.

Zonja Capalini: When there is movement, one can’t practically see that the reflection is somewhat blurred. For still images it’s not so perfect

Jenilia Congrejo: So, for still images you use another technique with a twin avie, right?
Zonja Capalini: It depends. For still images you need to have two symmetrical poses
and it’s difficult to get them. I’m glad Danae Kamachi sent me some sets of symmetrical poses. But it’s a limited technique, in that sense.

Jenilia Congrejo: Have you ever done still images with the water technique? Can you show an example?
Zonja Capalini: Yes, there you go

Jenilia Congrejo: Well, looks pretty cool and it’s untouched !
Zonja Capalini: Thanks!🙂 It’s not bad at all.

picture by Zonja Capalini
title: 0306 Yellow Dress

Thank you Zonja, for sharing your knowledge and tricks with us. I know you’re leading a busy life and I appreciate it you set aside time to show me your mirror technique. It’s brilliant!

 

—–
Second Life® is a registered trademark of Linden Research, Inc. All rights reserved. No infringement is intended.

  1. Woot. Nice vid and thx for sharing!!

    • Hute
    • August 1st, 2008

    Wauw Jenilia. Your sis said it. I like the post. You’re a great journalist into tech matters🙂

  2. that was pretty neat video, hats off to that!!!

  1. August 29th, 2008
  2. January 1st, 2010

Leave a Reply

