Feist – Lo, How A Rose E’re Blooming (German Christmas Carol – 16th century)

Es ist ein Ros’ enstprungen – Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming

I learnt the German traditional song “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen” when I sang in the church choir long time ago. Michael Prätorius composed it in the late 16th century. It is unknown who wrote the lyrics.

click image for large music sheet

I love Christmas Carols but I never loved this one…until yesterday, when I first listened to Leslie Feist’s version:

Her version’s just brilliant, very simple, clear, classy, and beautiful. The style slightly reminds me of “The Park”.

  1. January 1st, 2009
  2. January 1st, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

